Why are we proud of our pineapples?

We tell you everything!
St Mamet

History of the pineapple

The pineapple is a fruit that has survived the ages. It was discovered by Europeans during Christopher Columbus' second voyage to America from 1493 to 1496. It was his companion Michele da Cuneo who, in a letter, described this new fruit discovered in Guadeloupe. It was later found in Brazil, Paraguay and Argentina. During the course of the explorations, the pineapple was introduced to the lands of Guam and Hawaii in 1790 where it began to flourish.

However, in the early 1920s, a serious disease threatened to devastate Hawaii's pineapple plantations. Agricultural scientists scoured the world in search of new growing grounds. They found it in the province of Bukidnon in Northern Mindanao in the Philippines. The hilly plateaus with rich, fertile volcanic soil have plenty of sunshine and a cool climate, ideal for growing pineapples. In 1926, pineapple cultivation began on these lands.

Exceptional pineapples

Exceptional pineapple

Thanks to a partnership with S&W, the leading pineapple producer in the Philippines, we are able to offer you top quality pineapples. Our variety, Cayenne Lisse, has been selected for its golden yellow flesh and sweetness as it offers naturally sweet pineapples. Our pineapples are given time to ripen and develop great flavours due to the favourable climate of the province of Bukidnon.

We cultivate them in a way that respects biodiversity, pick them by hand and then subject them to rigorous quality control.

Finally, we select the best part of the pineapple which, thanks to the canning process, can be enjoyed all year round! Did you know that our pineapples are preserved in their own juice, with no added sugar? 😊

Much more than just a pineapple!

When you buy our pineapples, you are buying more than just fruit!

Thanks to our partnership with S&W, we are participating in the development of the sector that supports the local population!

You are indirectly contributing to the employment of many Filipinos. Local actions are also put in place to foster the well-being of the communities such as developing schools, promoting physical activity and having a hospital near the plantations where the families live.

In addition, we contribute to the preservation of the environment through responsible agriculture with the principles of respect for biodiversity, saving water, energy and waste management. For example, fruit pulp is used to feed animals. Also, the planting of 60,000 trees has made it possible to compensate for approximately 7,100 MT of CO2 equivalent in 2021, making it possible to have a negative carbon footprint for the production of our pineapples!

All these actions are rewarded as S&W has been elected 3 times employer of the year by the PMAM association "People Management Association of the Philippines"!

Want to discover St Mamet pineapples?

ananas batonnet

Bâtonnet d’ananas BIO

Des ananas issus d'une agriculture biologique
Ananas morceaux GMS

Pineapple pieces

Pineapples from a sustainable chain of production, cut into pieces.
ananas tranches gms

Sliced pineapple

Sliced pineapples from a sustainable chain of production.

Our recipes

Pineapple

Gâteau à l’ananas

Pineapple

Pineapple, mango and coconut pancakes

Pineapple Coconut

Wild prawns, pineapple and coconut

Pourquoi sommes-nous fiers de nos ananas ?

On vous dit tout !
St Mamet

Histoire de l'ananas

L’ananas est un fruit qui traverse les âges. Il a été découvert par les européens lors du second voyage de Christophe Colomb de 1493 à 1496 vers l’Amérique. C’est son compagnon Michele da Cuneo qui, dans une lettre, décrit ce nouveau fruit découvert en Guadeloupe. Il a ensuite été trouvé au Brésil, au Paraguay et en Argentine. Au cours des explorations, l’ananas a été introduit dans les terres de Guam et Hawaii en 1790 où il a commencé à prospérer.

Cependant, au début des années 1920, une maladie grave a menacé de dévaster les plantations d’ananas d’Hawaï. Des scientifiques agricoles ont alors parcouru le monde à la recherche de nouvelles terres de culture. Ils les ont trouvées dans la province de Bukidnon, dans le Nord de Mindanao aux Philippines. Les plateaux vallonnés au sol volcanique riche et fertile bénéficient d’un ensoleillement abondant et d’un climat frais, idéaux pour la croissance des ananas.  En 1926, la culture de l’ananas a débuté sur ces terres.

Des ananas d'exception

Ananas d'exception

Grâce à un partenariat avec S&W, principal producteur d’ananas aux Philippines, nous vous proposons des ananas de qualité supérieure. Notre variété, le Cayenne Lisse, a été sélectionnée pour sa chair de couleur jaune dorée et pour sa douceur car elle offre des ananas naturellement sucrés à point. Nos ananas prennent le temps de mûrir et de développer de belles saveurs grâce au climat favorable de la province de Bukidnon.

Nous les cultivons dans le respect de la biodiversité, les cueillons à la main avant de les soumettre à un contrôle qualité rigoureux.

Enfin, nous sélectionnons la meilleure partie de l’ananas qui, grâce à la mise en conserve, peut vous régaler tout au long de l’année ! Saviez-vous que nos ananas étaient préservés dans leur jus, sans sucres ajoutés ? 😊

Bien plus qu'un simple ananas !

Quand vous achetez nos ananas, vous achetez bien plus que du fruit !

Grâce à notre partenariat avec S&W, nous participons au développement de la filière qui fait vivre les populations locales !

Vous participez indirectement à l’emploi de nombreux Philippins. Des actions locales sont également mises en place pour favoriser le bien-être des communautés comme développer des écoles, la promotion de l’activité physique et la présence d’un hôpital près des plantations où vivent les familles.

Par ailleurs, nous contribuons à préserver l’environnement grâce à une agriculture responsable avec comme principes le respect de la biodiversité, l’économie de l’eau, de l’énergie et gestion des déchets. La pulpe des fruits est par exemple utilisée pour nourrir les animaux. Aussi, la plantation de 60 000 arbres a permis de compenser environ 7 100 MT d’équivalent CO2 en 2021, permettant d’avoir une empreinte Carbone négative pour la production de nos ananas !

Toutes ces actions sont récompensées puisque S&W a été élu 3 fois employeur de l’année par l’association PMAM « People Management Association of the Philippines » !

Envie de découvrir les ananas St Mamet ?

Saint Mamet - Conserve ananas bio

Ananas bio

Des ananas issus d'une agriculture biologique, coupés en morceaux.
Saint Mamet - Conserve ananas morceaux

Ananas morceaux

Des ananas issus d'une filière durable, coupés en morceaux.
Sans_titre__8_-removebg-preview (1)

Ananas en tranches

Des ananas issus d'une filière durable, coupés en tranches.

Nos recettes

Ananas

Crêpes ananas, mangues et noix de coco

Ananas Coco

Gambas sauvages, ananas et coco

Ananas

Tataki de thon à l’ananas